Showing posts with label Video Games. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Video Games. Show all posts

Wednesday, February 13, 2013

Violence in Video Games

Video games are very near and dear to my heart. I've been playing them since I was very young. In fact, my very first video game was the original Mortal Kombat, and I remember being absolutely fascinated with the animations when I wasn't busy freezing all of my opponents with Sub-Zero. I've grown up with video games, and they've provided the backdrop to my entire life. Some of my fondest memories have taken place with a controller in my hand. They've told me incredible stories, shown me rich and vibrant new worlds, forced me to make impactful choices, and even introduced me to some of my best friends in real life. Since those first days in Mortal Kombat to the moments yesterday when I beat Far Cry 3 and gaped at the screen, to the many, many more years I will be playing them, video games have had their hand in shaping my life.

Eleven days before Christmas, 20 children and 6 adults were shot dead at Sandy Hook Elementary. The event shook the country in a way that it hasn't seen since the Columbine shootings. As the country recovers from the shock, we look for places to point the fingers. For whatever reason, we are not satisfied by blaming the person who walked into the school and actually pulled the trigger. In our minds, there has to be something more, something more to blame and some sort of action that needs to be taken to prevent this from happening in the future. The deaths need to mean something.

Thursday, January 03, 2013

Review - Mass Effect 3


The Good
+ It's Mass Effect
+ Best gameplay of the series
+ A startling and powerful conclusion to the series

The Bad
- Lots of controversy around the ending
- Lack of Jack Wall composing the score

Spoiler Danger
Very Little

Friday, March 09, 2012

First Impressions After Beating Mass Effect 3

Mass Effect 3 completes the 5 year, three game journey of Commander Shepard. It completes my favorite video game (franchise) ever. It is my favorite game of all time.

Or at least...

It was supposed to be.

Thursday, December 01, 2011

A Couple More Preliminary Thoughts on Skyrim

I continue to dump an inordinate amount of time into Skyrim. That game is a little like a drug. Super addicting, crazy fun while it lasts, but you have a tendency to look back on it and wonder if you're sane for even doing it.

That, however, does not stop me from cracking out on my rogue, power leveling him through pickpocketing, lock picking, and sneaking around.

Bow and arrow? Check.
Double dagger awesomeness? Check.
Chest full of stolen goodies at my house? Check.
Badass thieves guild armor? Double check.

Morals? ...missing entirely. My rogue is a thief and a selfish bastard. I just started one quest line where, to initiate it, I had to lead a follower up to a certain god's shrine and kill him. Then I had to kill all the rest of the followers at the shrine. Now I have to kill the god's previous champion and the people with him. Lots of death and other ways to make myself obscenely rich.

Winning.

Did I mention that I am also a werewolf?

Tonight, I'd like to share a few thoughts on Skyrim, as posed by the fine, creative, and funny folks over at Penny Arcade.

Wednesday, November 30, 2011

My Christmas Wish List



It's that time of year again, that time of year when my parents ask for a Christmas list so they know what to shop for. I, of course, obliged, because there are few things better than getting free video games. Well, I do happen to enjoy giving gifts, so I bought my family some neat things on sale during Black Friday madness.

Of course, I bought them all from the comfort of my living room while wrapped in a blanket, drinking hot cocoa, and playing Skyrim. Sale or no, I do not stand outside in line to shop. Ever.

Anyway, on to the list!

Sunday, November 27, 2011

Skyrim First Impressions


Hey, y'all! Wow, I've already missed another TWO days on my write-every-day initiative. I'm on a roll... or well, not on a roll, as it were. I gotta get on this thing.

Anyhoo, it's almost 4 in the morning, and I'm writing my blog. I'm in the middle of pulling an all-nighter with my best friend. He's (finally) playing Mass Effect 2, and I'm observing, because the story is THAT good. Plus that gives me lots of time to do things like blog. And sort Magic cards... lots of things that I could've spent the last week of my vacation doing, but things like Skyrim kept getting in the way.

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Human Behavior and Warcraft


So yeah, I must confess, one of the reasons for this project is the amount of writing time that has been leached from me by the game World of Warcraft. I resisted the urge for many, many years, but Blizzard's offer of "play for free" snagged me. I was in between interesting things to do and was randomly browsing around the web when a dancing goblin caught my eye. Play World of Warcarft for free, the advert said, until level 20.

What do I have to lose, I thought to myself. It's free. I can really decide whether I like the game by level 20.

Problem was, I REALLY liked the game.

Friday, July 09, 2010

It's Coming...



EA and BioWare have officially announced the sequel to one of my favorite RPGs of all time. It's supposed to come out around March of next year, and color me giddy. Can't wait for this. I am STILL playing the first one, about to complete my third complete play through (including Awakenings).

Friday, July 02, 2010

Review - Mass Effect 2

Platform: Xbox 360
Spoiler Danger: Low

The Good:
+ Great characters
+ Much improved combat
+ No more texture pop in


The Bad:
- Some RPG elements were cut
- Not as much focus on the overarching story

Thursday, May 06, 2010

Review - Dragon Age Origins: Awakening

Platform: Xbox 360
Spoiler Danger: Low

The Good
+ Great story
+ Some memorable characters
+ Kicking more ass as a Grey Warden
+ The new mage skill trees are sick

The Bad
- Poor integration with previous DLC
- None of the new features available in Origins

Monday, February 08, 2010

Review - Uncharted 2: Among Thieves

Platform: PS3
Spoiler Danger Low

The Good

+ Everything, but seriously:
+ Graphics
+ Story
+ Nathan Drake
+ Stealth Kills (ninja strike!)

The Bad
- Nothing
- ...No, really, nothing

Review - Assassin's Creed 2

Platform: Xbox 360
Spoiler Danger Low

The Good

+ Assassin's tombs
+ Truth puzzles
+ One of the best soundtracks in years
+ A slam-bang ending

The Bad
- Ezio is a boring character
- Not enough Desmond parts
- Where are my timed attacks?!

Wednesday, January 13, 2010

Review - Modern Warfare 2

modern-warfare-2Platform: Xbox 360
Spoiler Danger: Low

The Good
  + The last two hours of the campaign
  + Spec-Ops mode is my new crack
  + The final confrontation is epic

The Bad 
  - The campaign's story is mostly ridiculous
  - How many Shock and Awe moments can fit into one game?

Review - Dragon Age: Origins

Platform: Xbox 360
Spoiler Danger Low 

The Good:
  + Deep characters and storyline
  + A world deeply impacted by the choices you make
  + So much to do

The Bad:

  - Graphics
  - Technical glitches that impede progress

Wednesday, September 09, 2009

Final Fantasy 13 Music Live Performance

IGN's posted the title track for the hotly anticipated Final Fantasy XIII. The live performance video is actually quite awesome, though the instruments are often overwhelmed by the singer's voice (which happens to be rather beautiful).

Check it out, and get a taste of what's to come musically from the next Final Fantasy.


Friday, July 17, 2009

Uncharted: Drake's Fortune - The Review

Let me start this off by saying that I have owned my PS3 since Tuesday. Over the course of Tuesday night and Thursday night, I beat this game. that should tell you two things: First, the game is not very long. Second, and most importantly, it rocks face.

I had a friend come over yesterday; we were supposed to play RE5 til the wee hours of the morning. He finished dinner before me, so I said, "You should try Drake's Fortune." He didn't put the controller down again until 4:30 in the morning when he beat the game.

I first heard about the game while reading Game Informer. They had a huge preview thing in it, and suffice it to say that I almost wanted to go out and get a PS3 just to play it. It looked that good.

Well, in this case, my expectations were met, and in some regards, even surpassed. Having done nothing with my PS3 yet other than play Drake's Fortune, I can safely say the game justifies my purchase all by itself.

Where do I begin? Graphics seem like an easy place to start. They're gorgeous. What else can I say? The vistas are jaw-dropping in many areas of the game, the water looks gorgeous, the art direction is spectacular. One of my fondest memories of the game is one part where Drake is on a jet ski riding up a jungle river. The river itself, put together with the surrounding areas is so beautiful, so realistic, it's impossible to describe. I felt like I was watching a movie.

Ooooh, purty

I believe that is the effect Naughty Dog was going for in this game. The game feels like a movie. I think that's probably the best way to describe it. From the way the gameplay unfolds to the camera angles to the music... it all screams Hollywood experience. I've never felt like I was playing a movie before in a video game, but that's exactly what this felt like, and it's a pretty darned cool feeling.

You play as Nathan Drake, direct descendant of Sir Francis Drake, the famed explorer from the 16th century. The game opens with Nate discovering the underwater coffin of his famous relative, only to find it empty. Inside is a journal that contains the clues he must follow to find the treasure of El Dorado. The hunt leads through dense jungles, dark caves, and ancient cities. Like I said before, the surroundings are breathtaking. The vistas will demand you stop and stare, the jungle feels claustrophobic as the foliage darkens everything around you. The abandoned ruins are at once majestic and derelict. Along the way, a very interesting story unfolds, one that feels much like an Indiana Jones movie. Don't let the bad taste of the last Indy flick color your opinion of this game though, I'm talking Raiders of the Lost Ark good, not Crystal Skull bad. You've got Nate hunting the treasure with sidekicks Sully and Elena, then you've got the murderous bastards who are hunting them. And then...

Oh wait, I don't want to give anything away if you haven't experienced it for yourself yet.

The characters, something you don't usually see developed too well in a game such as this (given only about 10 hours of play time), are great. Nate is witty and sarcastic, and he will keep you entertained from start to finish, either with his banter around others or as he talks himself through the various situations in which he finds himself. Elena is the awesome lady of the story, who is not afraid to stand up and do her own thing. Finally, Sully is the (also) sarcastic old man who is never short on hilarious things to say. Put the fantastic scripting together with their amazing-looking onscreen counterparts, and well, it's like movie magic.

This impression is certainly helped by the animations. This game is chock full of them, particularly where facial expressions are concerned. I have never seen a video game that took so much time and effort into showing you how a character's face looks. Usually, in video games, you have to rely on the voice acting or other broad gestures (like slumped shoulders) to tell you how a character is feeling. Here, you get the voice work, the animations, and you get a ridiculously large suite of facial expressions to match. Nate face can go from excited to surprised to terrified seamlessly and realistically. You can put the game on mute and have a general understanding of what Nate is feeling just by looking at his face. As far as I have seen, this has NEVER been done in a video game before, and it is (among a long list of great things this game does right) my favorite thing about the game. I am a sucker for great characters, and these facial animations bring Nathan and company to life like nothing I've ever seen in a video game.

Great facial expressions = great characters

In terms of gameplay, this feels a lot like a combination of Prince of Persia and Resident Evil 5, just harder. PoP, in my experience tends to have a lot of hand holding, which always drove me nuts. After the first mission, Drake's Fortune turns you loose to solve puzzles however you want. There is an option for the game to give you a hint if it feels that you are stuck, but I turned that off immediately. The platforming elements are challenging and fun. Even when I died trying to find the correct solution to a puzzle, I was never frustrated.

Whether you are platforming or doing combat, the gameplay is intense. Particularly on the platforming segments. The devs throw Nate into some pretty precarious situations. One part has you hopping boulders and the edge of a cliff to get to the other side of the waterfall. On your way across, the camera jumps to a point above you, looking straight down at you... and all the way down the fall. With graphics as good as Naughty Dog is squeezing out of the PS3, let me tell you about how much vertigo I felt. The sense of height was dizzying. And that's just one small part from a game full of moments such as these.

This is the side of a mighty big fortress

There is a wide variety of gameplay here, which is part of what made it feel like RE5 to me. You have platforming sections, action sections, vehicle sections... Yet the variety in gameplay really feels cohesive, because it feels like you are on an adventure!

This is probably the games second biggest success (behind bringing the characters to vivid life with facial animations). The game is immersing as hell, which is also part of the reason the game feels so movie-ish. There were many times when I thought I might be in a jungle, or in a cave, or an abandoned ruin. Between characters I cared about, impressive graphics, intense gameplay, great music (Greg Edmonson put together one heck of a score that I finally managed to track down. Snag this one if you get the chance) and camera choices, and great 5.1 support, this might be the most immersing video game I've ever experienced.

I'd like to point out the last boss "battle" for a moment here. The final battle in Drake's Fortune exemplifies a trend in certain really good video games lately, and that's the idea of the final boss battle not being just some hard ass fight, but rather the climax of a story. The "boss fight" here is no harder, per se, than the rest of the game, but it is the climax to an edge-of-your-seat story, and so the intensity is ratcheted up. This feels better than a more traditional last boss where you battle some overpowered, steroid addicted, hulking thing. It makes the experience of the game as a whole more fulfilling, and I wish more games would use this method. Other great games that have gone this route are Mass Effect, Halo: Combat Evolved, and Halo 3.

Punch in the gut! Check out the water effects.... gorgeous!

That's not to say the game is perfect or anything. No, not quite. My complaints are, however, really small. More like quibbles really. First, there were some small oversights on certain things. In one part, for example, Nate is in a room with a window. There is a desk between Nate and the window, yet when we see Nate from the outside looking into his room, it appears as though he is right against the window. These types of occurrences are relatively minor and rare, but they were certainly head-scratching moments when they appeared. A far larger problem is the aiming. It's a bit jittery, and there were many shots I took throughout the game that missed but in any other game, would have hit. One of the most common examples of this, and this happened rather often, would happen when an enemy was shooting me from behind cover. I would shoot them clearly in the head, with say, a sniper rifle, but instead of hitting the enemy in the head, I'd see a little spark in front of their face, like I'd hit their cover instead of their head. Given the scarcity of ammo on the higher difficulties, this was immensely frustrating, and I look forward to this being resolved in the sequel.

Anyway, this review comes very late, as this game's been out for almost 2 years now, but it also gets to be my first PS3 review, and what a way to kick things off. I think this game by itself justifies the fact that I own a PS3 now, and there's a sequel coming soon to boot! I can't wait for that one; it's at the top of my PS3 must play games list right now. You can check out the trailer, which I posted to this here blog a few days ago.

Anyway, time for the score. 9.8/10.0

Monday, July 13, 2009

I Finally Bought a PlayStation 3

So, I finally broke down and bought myself a PS3. I snagged a nice deal with a 160GB model, extra controller and 2 games (Uncharted: Drake's Fortune and Infamous) for under $500. Woot.

But why? I've been an Xbox 360 loyalist since day 1, and I still believe it is the better system with better games. BUT, it does not play high definition movies. I've long been able to just not care that much, as I've been content with standard definition. However, after last weekend watching Transformers on my outdated HD DVD player and the slew of good HD-worthy movies that came out this summer, the time has come for me to invest in a BluRay player. And since I'm also a gamer, the PS3 seems like a logical option for that. It should be here the end of this week or beginning of next week. I can't wait.

In the world of gaming, there are very few games that I want to play on the PS3 that I can't already play on my 360. Simply stated, I still think the 360 is a better system, because it has more of the games that I want to play. That being said, there some games that I've been tempted to buy a PS3 just so I could play. Uncharted: Drake's Fortune was certainly one of them. In fact, ever since I saw the first preview for it in Game Informer, I've wanted to play that game. Story and event driven gameplay, graphics and physics that showed us what the vaunted PS3 hardware could do, and STORY driven gameplay. Few things are cooler than that. Now, I get to play it, and the forthcoming sequel to boot.

Who saw the E3 trailer for the new Uncharted game? It looked jaw-droppingly good, and by itself it might've been enough to push me to buy a PS3 when it came out. Talk about intense gameplay! It looks remarkable, and here it is.

Anyway, the only other PS3 exclusive that's come out so far that has me interested is Infamous, which is supposed to be similar to Prototype (you are a badass with special powers running around an apocalyptic city killing things) but better. Sign me up. Expect reviews of both that and Uncharted: Drake's Fortune soon after I receive them.

Friday, June 19, 2009

Video Games Equal Violence???

It seems that the last couple of weeks have been tough ones for us supporters of video games. Two events in the last couple of weeks have given further ammunition to the folks who think video games should be censored and/or banned due to "inappropriate content".

First, our President, my favorite and yours, gave a speech to the American Medical Association, during which he stated: "It means going for a run or hitting the gym, and raising our children to step away from the video games and spend more time playing outside."

... The implications here are that children are spending too much time playing video games and not enough playing outside. Is this the fault of the video games though? No, not really. But notice how video games have stepped in as the "Americans are unhealthy" scapegoat, taking the place of the once-hated inactivity that was waching TV. I've never particularly agreed with either of the statements: we are not becoming an obese society because of watching TV or playing video games. We are becoming that way because of personal irresponsibility.

To use myself as an example, I play video games. I play a lot of video games, in fact, but I am not an unhealthy person. I am capable of removing my behind from the couch and doing active things, such as going on hikes or riding a bike. Video games to not prevent me from doing these things. I'm sure they would if I let them, but I take responsibility for my health and I always make time for things that promote that idea.

Speaking of irresponsibility, I've got a story for you. For those of you that don't know, I make my living working for a cable company. I don't do it any more (yay promotion!), but I used to take calls, listen to customers, and help them any way that I could. There were times when the troubleshooting I could perform over the phone was not adequate, and I'd have to schedule a technician to come out to the home to investigate the problem there. My favorite response to this adequately illustrates the point I'll be making here in a moment. "Well, what are my kids supposed to do without TV until the technician gets here?"

No, I'm sad to say, this was not a rare question.

There were many thoughts that ran through my head when one of these questions was asked of me. The list of things to do without a TV seems endless. Your children could:
  • read a book
  • go on a hike
  • do something with friends
  • spend time with their family
  • draw
  • write
  • ride their bike
  • take a nap
  • go to the park
  • do homework
  • play a sport
  • take up a new hobby
  • play a board game
The list goes on and on and on. More to the point, though, is the question "why are you asking me that?" It takes a sad parent indeed who can't think of something to do with their kid and who thinks the TV should do the the kid's parenting. The response that wanted to come out of my mouth during those conversations was always "Why don't you spend some time with them? You know, do a little bit of that parenting thing you may have heard about?" Not wanting to get fired, I refrained from the sarcastic answers and merely said "I don't know."

Perhaps IGN's lovely Jessica Chobot puts it best in the Daily Fix for June 16 when she said, quite simply: "Good advice Mr. President, but yet again, is this just making video games the scapegoat? Maybe you should have just stopped your speech at 'We need to raise our children.' Period." Ah, common sense. Gotta love it. I wish I could've said that to some of my customers.

Anyway, part 2.

Daniel Petric, an Ohio teenager who shot and killed his mother and seriously wounded his father after his mother banned him from playing Halo 3, was sentenced to life in prison with perole eligibility after 23 years. The sentence was handed down earlier this week. This is great news. People who kill people should be sentenced as such. Rock on.

At least, that's great news until we get to the judge's little post-verdict speech, in which he basically blames "violent video games" for this young man's reaction to his mother... Quote the judge (emphasis mine):
The Court must enter a finding of guilty on the counts set forth in the indictment. That being said, it's my firm belief as a human being - and not as a jurist - that Daniel does suffer from a serious defect of the mind.

This Court's opinion is that we don't know enough about these video games. In this particular case, not so much the violence of the game because I believe in the Halo 3, what it amounts to is a contest to see who can shoot the most aliens who attack.

It's my firm belief that after a while the same physiological responses occur that occur in the ingestion of some drugs. And I believe that an addiction to these games can do the same thing. The dopamine surge, the stimulation of the nucleus accumbens - the same as an addiction. Such that when you stop, your brain won't stand for it.

The other dangerous thing about these games, in my opinion, is that when these changes occur, they occur in an environment that is delusional. Because you can shoot these aliens, and they're there again the next day. You have to shoot them again. And I firmly believe that Daniel Petric had no idea, at the time he hatched this plot, that if he killed his parents, they would be dead forever.
His poor speaking skills aside, he firmly believes that video games killed this man's understanding of what it means to kill somebody? Really? This entire statement is just idiocy. His statement makes two arguments I believe are completely false. First he says that video games are addicting in the same way that a chemical drug is addicting. Second, he says that video games skew perception of reality, of right and wrong.

I don't believe that video games can be addicting any more than I believe sex can be. Chemicals, such as drugs, are addicting because your body gets to the point that it cannot function correctly without them, because it becomes used to their presence. A body comes to depend on the chemical reactions that take place when a certain chemical or combination of chemicals is ingested. For example, a chemical dependency to painkillers is formed when the following things happen:
  1. A person takes the painkiller often enough that the body develops a tolerance for it. The dosage being taken until this point starts to become ineffective.
  2. Because the painkiller is no longer working as desired, the person begins to take either a larger dose or begins taking doses more often.
When the person, for whatever reason, stops ingesting the chemical(s), the body reacts, as it must get used to functioning without the chemicals on which it has come to depend. In the above example, the body must learn once again to deal with pain on its own, without the aid of chemical painkillers.

A physical activity, such as playing video games or having sex, does not involve foreign chemicals entering the body. It involves fun or interest, and a person reacts to that fun in the same way he'd react to any fun or interesting activity. The body releases endorphins that say "this is awesome." Now, everybody likes to have fun, whether by playing video games or playing football, but most people are capable of continuing on with their lives even when denied their particular favorite method of having fun. It is the people who lack the willpower to restrain themselves - the people who allow their need for this fun experience dominate their lives - who become obsessed with the experience, and we label them addicts. Saying that a person is addicted to an experience that doesn't involve chemicals is really just a way to shirk blame from that person and place it on this imaginary addiction. This alleviates the need for that person to take responsibility to change things, because "this person can't help it, he's addicted."

The judge's second point is that video games skew the real world and diminish the thought of real world consequences that might prevent a person from doing something bad. I find the notion that a person's moral compass is skewed because that person just finished playing a video game (where you are shooting pixels on the screen) to be ludicrous. I find it much more likely that any person, such as Mr. Petric, who will shoot somebody over a video game had an off-kilter moral compass long before laying hands on a video game.

Jessica Chobot also weighed in on this matter in the June 17 Daily Fix. She put it very simply: "The whole thing is seriously fucked up." Rock on.

I'm reminded of the Columbine shooting and the resulting fallout. It so happens that the two students responsible for the atrocities that took place that day also played Doom. As a result, there was a huge public outcry against violent video games, because these two must have been influenced by this game - which, oddly enough, has you running around killing demons from hell. There was this funny theory that said that people who played violent video games were more likely to shoot up their schools. Hell, I was in high school at the time, and I was yanked into the principal's office (during finals, no less) and interrogated by the Woodland Park Police, because it was known that I was an avid video gamer. They had all kinds of great questions for me, such as "Do you play violent video games like Doom?" and "Do these video games ever make you think you can shoot somebody in real life without consequences?" or how about "Do you think about killing people, such as your fellow students, when you are playing these games?"

The idea that video games lead to violence, as I mentioned before, is ridiculous. Yes, you will always have people who play video games who also kill people. Just like you will always have people who go to church who also kill people, or people who drink wine or appreciate fine art or have jobs or go to their neighbors' bar-be-ques who also kill people. But video games cannot be our scapegoat. We cannot point at them and say "that's why person X killed person Y." To do so misses the entire point.

Person X killed person Y.

It doesn't really matter why this happened, only that it did. Person X should be punished just the same, regardless of whether person Y restricted person X's video games or person Y threatened to punch person X. Hold the person who committed the act responsible for the act rather than finding something else to blame.

Shepard's Death and Other Mass Effect 2 News

In his blog over at IGN, Bioware's Casey Shepard announced that it will be your decisions throughout the game that determine whether the protagonist you've created will live or die. From the blog:
When we say that Shepard can die in Mass Effect 2, it’s not something that happens at points in the middle of the game. Yes, you can “die” in gameplay as normal but that’s not what we’re talking about here. It’s not a “Game Over” screen. It’s not a gimmicky thing where you make a choice, “die”, and reload to continue to the “real” ending. When you get to the very end of the story in Mass Effect 2, you will get one of a wide variety of climactic and satisfying endings. Depending on how prepared you were, your ending may involve Shepard making the ultimate sacrifice to accomplish the mission.
What that means: if your choices cause Shepard to die in Mass Effect 2, you will not be able to play as Shepard in Mass Effect 3.

Casey goes on:
If you do die in the ending of Mass Effect 2, it will not come as a surprise, nor will it be random. It will be pretty obvious that you headed into the final mission knowing that Shepard probably wouldn’t make it out alive. Throughout the middle of the game you are building up information, resources, a team, and a ship that will be able to do the job, and although you can jump straight to the final mission at a certain point, you’ll have a good feel for whether you’re likely to survive it.

Part of what makes the final mission dangerous in a more profound way is that each squad member could potentially die a real, story-based death during that mission as well. You might have an ending where Shepard’s entire team survives, or where the entire mission is a bloodbath and everyone (including Shepard) is killed, or anything in between. And for all characters, death in Mass Effect 2 means they won’t show up in Mass Effect 3.

One big reason you’ll want to be alive after the ending is that after the credits roll, you are returned to the game world - ready to head back out for more adventure. You can complete unfinished missions, explore the galaxy, and download new adventures to play. But Mass Effect is a trilogy about Commander Shepard’s journey - if your Shepard dies in the end of Mass Effect 2, that’s the end of him / her. In that case, you can play Mass Effect 3 as “a” Shepard – just not “your” Shepard. As in real life, not being able to keep living is really the main down-side of death. So if you care about playing the next game with your character, make sure you survive this one.

Wow. That's just ridiculous. I am quite seriously drooling in anticipation of this one. Casey goes on to give some more details of what exactly is carried over from Mass Effect into the sequel if you have a save game to import. He has confirmed that all choices you made in the first game will be imported to the second game and may have an impact on the events of the sequel. He has also confirmed that skills and items in ME2 have been completely redone from ME, so the import will "adapt the key assets of your character" without necessarily bringing the exact skill points and level over.
The primary party members from ME (Liara, Ashley, Kaiden, Wrex, and Garrus) will return to ME2 assuming you did not allow them to die in ME. Not all will be able to join your squad for ME2.

We also have some more information about the potentially really sweet interrupt actions. Watching Shepard push the guard out the window in the demo was really sweet, and this promises to be one of many such moments throughout the game.
Interrupts are not meant to be “quick time events”. They are additional options that can appear throughout an NPC’s line that allow you to take a more physical action versus one of the verbal responses. You don’t need to fixate on a part of the screen – a flashing icon will catch your attention in your peripheral vision when it is available. A red icon on the left of the conversation wheel means you can pull the left trigger to fire a hostile interrupt. A blue one on the right side means you can pull the right trigger to do a heroic interrupt. This system allows you to really throw your weight around and get involved in more dynamic interactions with other characters.
And finally, Casey gives us some more juicy tidbits about the improved combat system. I loved the combat engine from the first game - it was fun, intense, and full of strategic options. But this one looks to push all those bars to new and exciting levels.
We’ve made a bunch of changes that add up to the ability to fight without pausing. But you can still hold the powers screen up to pause the action and plan your next moves. One of the biggest improvements was the option to fire your powers in realtime by mapping your favorite ones to buttons – this is a lot of fun and really unlocks the real potential of the combat system. The other big improvement was separate, context-based squad commands on the d-pad. So with a single press of the d-pad you can send a specific squad member to exactly where you want him / her, or to hit an enemy with a special power. This means you can run around with the best powers of your team right at your fingertips and enjoy realtime tactical mayhem – or you can pause with the powers screen to really think about what you want to do next.
Color me excited for this game. It's easily the thing I'm anticipating the most for the new year.

Sunday, June 14, 2009

Prototype - The Review

I would like to begin this by saying that this game is so disappointing I could cry, but at the same time, it's an immense amount of fun.

The premise of Prototype, story-wise, is kind of cool. You are Alex Mercer, a guy who wakes up in a morgue in the middle of a viral outbreak on Manhattan. You have no memory of anything prior to waking up, but you discover you have these... powers. You can get shot and not die, you can kick people's asses, You can run fast and jump great distances. In all, you probably feel a little like Jason Bourne.

Over the course of the game, Mercer will grow to have a whole slew of powers. Perhaps the most important of these is the ability to consume others. Mercer can consume anybody, and doing so yields him different benefits. First and foremost, consuming people gives him more health. Given that civilians are plentiful, you are never short of "medikits." Second, Mercer can shape shift into the last person you consumed. This helps you blend into the crowd if the military is chasing you, and it allows you access to otherwise restricted areas, like military bases.

Having discovered these powers, you set out to kill the person who left you to die in the morgue.

Thus you are launched into an open world, sandboxy game where you can run around and do pretty much whatever you want. Go do storyline missions, do some side events scattered throughout the city, blow up a virus hive building or a military installation, the choices seem boundless. Each mission or event that you complete, each person you kill (let's face it, you have zero moral compass in this game - you kill everything) earns you evolution points, which allows you to purchase new abilities or upgrade existing ones.

There are 31 storyline missions in the game to partake in, but they only tell a small portion of the story. The rest is told through the Web of Intrigue. As you venture throughout the city, you will find people (designated with a red icon) who you can consume, and upon doing so, you will see a slick cut scene. See, when you consume people, you absorb their memories. The folks who contribute to the Web of Intrigue have memories that tell bits and pieces of the past and the events leading up to the viral outbreak. Get all 131 nodes on the web, and you have the complete story.

I really, really like this mechanic as a storytelling device in a sandbox game such as this. It gives you reason to explore the city beyond the standard hidden orbs and such. It ensures that you don't get the entire picture until you've invested some time into the game.

And time is something you may very well want to invest here. The use and abuse of Mercer's powers provides grin-inducing entertainment throughout the entire game. Without these powers, the game would have been a complete waste of time. But thanks to the developer's understanding that all we're really going to want to do is kill shit in awesome ways, it's almost possible to overlook all the shortcomings.

Ah, the shortcomings, there are many of them. First and foremost is the story. There are loopholes you could pilot a space shuttle through, there are loose ends galore, and it's really not very well written. Cheesy lines are found throughout, and I'm not talking campy-cool-cheesy like you find in RE games.

I'm going to share an example here of one of the bigger loopholes in the story. This is a major spoiler (though not the biggest), so if you haven't yet played the game and would rather experience this twist for yourself, skip down to the next paragraph. For those of you who have beaten it already or don't care, highlight away. Alex Mercer, the real Alex Mercer, dies in Penn Station right before the game picks up. We discover near the end that Mercer is actually the virus manifested in human form. Hence all his cool abilities. But, if he's a manifestation of the virus, why does the virus attack him, and where does his flimsy idea of being a good person come from? They never really bother to explain that, and given my love for all things character development, it bothers me to no end.

Aside from the story, the graphics are bad. They're bland, drab, and they look like they belong on the original Xbox. Mercer is literally the only thing in the world that looks detailed enough to be on the 360. There's a lot of sameness everywhere. New York, according to this game, is made up of thousands of people who share maybe 10 different skins. All marines are white, all commanding officers have buzz cuts and sunglasses. Every military base in New York looks exactly the same, and if you blow up 100 hive buildings, they will all look alike. One of the great things about this generation of consoles is that you can really implement variety in games. If you'd like a great example of crowd variety, go take a peek at Assassin's Creed. There's no reason everything/body has to look the same at this point in the evolution of video games.

Speaking of Assassin's Creed, this game reminded me of Assassin's Creed at many points. Our hooded protagonist looks like a less-cool Altaire, with his hooded garb and all. He also controls much like Altaire. Simply hold the right trigger and move. The game handles all the complexities for you like jumping over cars, scaling buildings, avoiding obstacles, etc. This is utterly necessary, as the entire rest of the controller is used to control your powers. There are a lot of them, and it can be aggravating trying to select the correct attack power, for example, in the middle of a hectic firefight.

The learning curve in this game feels more spikey than curvey. This can be attributed to the difficulty that swings wildly between very easy and throwing the controller through the TV hard. For example, the superior hunters (such an awesome name!!!) are difficult literally to the point of ruining the experience. You fight 2 in the game, and I really couldn't stand those fights. You spend more time running away than actually fighting, because your attacks (even the fully upgraded ones) do a pitiful amount of damage compared to their 2 hit kill shenanigans. Spoiler note: For crying out loud, I am the virus! How can I not kill them? They are a product of ME!

As long as we're on the topic of enemies, it should be noted that there are approximately 5 kinds in the entire game. Soldiers, infected, stronger infected, hunters, lead hunters. Then there are boss battles. 5 is a very small number, so the enemies get old particularly fast (especially since they all look the same).

On top of all that, there are frame rate issues. I'd need both hands and feet plus some to count all the times my frame rate dropped well below the standard 30fps. In this game, there is always a ton of action going on onscreen. Most of the time, the game does well with all the gore-tastic moments, but there are numerous times when it just slows to a crawl, particularly during the final boss fight.

The side events exist much like they do in Spider-man games. No, you aren't going to chase any balloons for little girls, but many of the events were ripped right out of those games. You've got your race style events where you have to hit a certain number of checkpoints in a certain amount of time. There's the kill things events where you kill as many baddies as possible within a certain time limit. These are rather derivative, I've done them a million times in other games, and they're boring. There are a couple of interesting mission types, though. One, called War, aligns you with a side (military or infected) and you must kill all members of the opposing side before everybody on your side dies. Being on the military's side is just awful, because they fall so quickly to infected hunters, it's just silly. Then there's the glide event, in which you use Mercer's gliding ability (think like a squirrel) to get as close to a target as possible.

There are two vision modes that you can activate, both of which are utterly useless and probably could have been cut from the game. The first vision mode allows you to tell an enemy from a civilian. Considering the game doesn't care if you're killing civilians while trying to kill enemies, and hell, even if you're trying not to you will anyway, there's no point to ever activating this. The other vision mode shows you who is carrying the infection. This is useful for exactly one mission in the game in which you are tracking certain infected people to consume, but beyond that it is worthless. True, you can see that the military is slowly getting infected as the game goes on, and I was hoping they'd make something of that in the story, but no.

So, what is it that makes the game so fun exactly? Well, like I said before, powers! The purpose of this game is to make you feel like a badass (the most recent example being The Force Unleashed), and it succeeds there admirably (most of the time, anyway). Even at the beginning when I lacked the really awesome powers, I still felt awesome. So far, I've spent more time in the game wandering around and finding fun ways to exploit my badassness than I spent actually following the story. I'm sure eventually killing people would get old, but it hasn't happened yet.

Powers aside, my favorite thing about the game is watching New York evolve as the game progresses. At first, when the outbreak is just beginning, the city is all as normal. But as the game progresses, the virus starts gaining footholds across the city, and the military starts setting up posts in the city as well (these are marked on your map with red and blue circles respectively). At first you see people on the sidewalk start coughing up blood and clutching themselves in pain. As you move out of areas protected by the military and into infected zones, the sky turns red, buildings are on fire, you can see organic matter on the streets and on buildings, cars are no longer driving on the roads but instead litter the streets as their owners shamble around trying to kill you. As the infection spreads, taking control of more and more of the city, the soldiers start coming out with their tanks and helicopters to kill the infected, and there is literally war in the streets. This game-long evolution is exciting to watch.

Helicopters are a blast. I love hijacking helicopters (talk about feeling cool, but you can eventually fly a helicopter, jump out as it explodes after being hit with a missile, latch onto another helicopter as you're falling, kill the pilots, and carry on blowing things up), and I love air-to-air combat. Especially near the end of the game when the military helicopters just don't stop coming. It's a blast, in more ways than one.

Infiltrating military bases and trying to consume the necessary folks (certain soldiers in each base will give you skills if you consume them) all stealth-like is quite challenging and entertaining.

I also like finding people on the Web of Intrigue. Few things in the game are more exciting than stumbling on one of those red icons that just scream EAT ME!

Overall, this game has so much potential, it's hard to just write it off as a bad game. No, it doesn't live up to expectations, yes, it feels like it was rushed through development. The graphics could have used some polish, the city and enemies need more variety, as do the side events, and the story needed a good deal more time to flesh things out. But all that is almost negligible in the face of how much fun it is just to run around in that world, go to town with Mercer's powers, and watch the city evolve through the epidemic. This is not a game I should enjoy playing, all things considered, but I do anyway.

Score: 5.5/10.0

Popular Posts